Buhari Names Railway Stations after Prominent Nigerians, Obasanjo Excluded

Having admitted that the current administration was implementing the master plan initiated by former President Olusegun Obasanjo for the development of Nigeria’s railway transport system, President Muhammadu Buhari has named stations after some prominent citizens, but excluded the elder statesman.

Chibuike Rotimi Amaechi, Minister of Transportation, in a statement issued by the ministry’s Director of Press, Eric Ojiekwe, shared that the “deserving citizens have contributed to the progress and development of their respective communities and the nation at large.”

According to the document, the Apapa railway station on Lagos-Ibadan with extension to the Lagos Port Complex was named after Bola Ahmed Tinubu. Others are Babatunde Raji Fashola (Agege station); Lateef Jakande (Agbado station); Mobolaji Johnson (Ebute Metta Station); and Prof. Yemi Osinbajo (Kajola station).

The beneficiaries also include Prof. Wole Soyinka (Abeokuta station); Segun Osoba (Olodo station); Ladoke Akintola (Omio-Adio station); Funmilayo Ransome Kuti (Papalanto station); Chief Obafemi Awolowo (Ibadan station); and Chief Alex Ekwueme (Operation Control Centre).

For the Itakpe-Ajaokuta/Aladja-Warri railway corridor, the recipients are Alhaji Adamu Attah (Itakpe station); Admiral Augustus Aikhomu (rtd) (Itogbo station); Brigadier General George Innih (rtd) (Agenebode station); Dr. Olusola Saraki (Ajaokuta station); Chief Anthony Eromosele Enahoro (Uromi station); Chief Tom Ikimi (Ekehen station); and Brig.-Gen. Samuel Osaigbovo Ogbemudia (rtd) (Igbanke station).

The rest were Dr. Goodluck Ebele Jonathan (Agbor station complex); Major General David Ejoor (rtd) (Abraka station), Olorogun Micheal Ibru (Okpara station); Chief Alfred Rewane (Ujevwu station); and Vice Admiral Mike Akhigbe (rtd) (Railway Village, Agbor).

Meanwhile, the Yoruba Council of Elders (YCE) has said the Nigerian leader might desire to recognize the Owu chief with something more prestigious.

Speaking yesterday in Ibadan, its Secretary-General, Dr. Kunle Olajide asserted that Obasanjo had paid his dues, highlighting that nobody underestimates his role in the nation’s history.

He congratulated the beneficiaries in the following statement:

“He (Buhari) is looking for something more prestigious to name after Obasanjo. Otherwise, I don’t see why. He has been Head of State twice. We must remember that Obasanjo was the first Head of State on the African continent to hand over to a civilian administration.

“I don’t want to believe there is any ulterior motive there. I still feel perhaps he is waiting for something more befitting to name after him. Buhari must have something in mind to name after Obasanjo which has not been completed. I don’t think it is deliberate. “Obasanjo is part of history of this country. Nobody can underestimate his role in the history of Nigeria. Something must be in the offing for him.

“Tinubu too is part of history of this country. You cannot underestimate his role. He has had a very successful political career. For me, I think he merits being recognised. Osoba and others merit it. They should give them due recognition.”

Categories: News

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s